Florida Mutual Recognition
This course is designed to prepare students for the 40-question Laws and Rules Exam administered by the state of Florida. You will learn about Florida real estate license law, real estate-related Florida Statutes, and Florida Real Estate Commission administrative rules. The course also covers the Florida Real Estate Commission’s required content outline for the Laws and Rules Examination.
$69 for 6 months access
Florida Mutual Recognition Agreement
Florida has mutual agreements with 10 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Rhode Island, and West Virginia.
In order to qualify for the same type of license in Florida, Brokers and Sales Associates from the mutual recognition states must meet the following qualifications:
You must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
The applicant must not be a resident of Florida at the time of application.
All applicants must have obtained their Real Estate license by meeting the education and examination requirements of the state with which Florida has mutual recognition.
Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state from which the applicant is applying.
The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in other states. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions with a point value of 1 point per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have an equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements have been concluded.
Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license, you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date, listed on your license, you will be required to complete post-licence education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours of Post-Education for Brokers). Thereafter, you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education every two years. The education requirements are in addition to the applicable renewal fees.
You will be notified within 60 days, prior to your expiration date, that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account, frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, the status of your license, and related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.